The Me Inside

“Is it really that bad if someone sees who you are? Why is it humans have a problem with letting someone else see that they are human?” Joseph Gogler

Sometimes it’s difficult to put away the mask. If it were so easy, people wouldn’t really see a need to create alternate personas or use creative pen names. We’d all just be ourselves without worry or pretense. (How I wish it were that easy.) I don’t think there is really one answer as to why we can’t let others in. Past trauma? Fear of not being accepted? So many reasons it’s hard to pinpoint.

As for me, I’m always surprised that others would even be remotely interested in knowing what makes me tick, find out what I’m really like.

Being noticed is one of the weirdest things about an introvert on the internet. Once we’re out there and people pay attention, we’re ready to run back into the corner and hide. At least that is the way it is for me.

And it’s a habit that I’m slowly trying to break.

Leave a Reply

