Remembering MCA

I can’t believe it’s already been a year since Adam ‘MCA’ Yauch passed away.  It seems like just yesterday I heard the news.  I remember hearing Licensed to Ill when I was a kid. MCA was my instant favorite.  He was always the one that stood out in their music videos to me. A leather jacket wearing punk in a sea of Kangol hats and Adidas track suits.

To me, MCA had the better flow and lyrics than his band mates. The way he commanded the mic with his growling, raspy voice was one of the best things about a Beastie track.  Today, I’m sharing a few of my favorite Beastie Boys tunes. I went through several videos to pull three of my favorites. Surfing their music on YouTube definitely brought back a lot of memories.

B-Boy Bouillabaisse from Paul’s Boutique (1989)

Sure Shot from Ill Communication (1994)

Pass the Mic from Check Your Head (1992)

Leave a Reply

