Overanalyze Me #blogging #writing

“Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.”  – Scott Adams 

This is something I have a hard time doing. Knowing what to keep and what not to. I’ll look at something and think maybe it needs something more or something else completely.  Often the result is that I break my piece entirely and it becomes nothing like what it was in the beginning.

So when I find myself spinning my wheels and over thinking what I’ve written, I ask a friend to look at it.  Getting a view from another perspective can be so helpful. It lets me get immediate feedback on a piece and stops me from making the mistake of editing something that really didn’t need a lot of change to begin with.

Sometimes I need to remember that it doesn’t have to be perfect. It just has to be from the heart.

I’m sure artists in all mediums can relate to this. How do you handle it?

Leave a Reply

