WordPress Voice Posting

I tried out WordPress voice posting this week for an “accent challenge”  I accepted from a friend. The process of Post by Voice was fun and easy, I just called a number from my cell phone, spoke normally and WordPress did the rest, but there were a couple of things that I didn’t like all that much.

First, there is no way to preview posts prior to posting. What if I didn’t like what I said or there was some background noise I’d rather have filtered out? Being able to preview with the opportunity to re-record would solve that. The other thing I didn’t like was that instead of queuing up the clip for review in drafts, it automatically posts it to the blog. I would have liked to added text and a title prior to my voice post going out live over all my social networks. The post really wasn’t complete before that. Having the option to save a voice post as a draft or having it go live immediately would be a good solution to that issue.

Overall, I liked the quality of the sound and enjoyed creating the post. In the future though, I’ll probably just use Post by Voice for more candid clips and use another service like SoundCloud for more scripted posts.

–  Kat

* For details on how to enable Post by Voice, WordPress has instructions on their Support Page: http://en.support.wordpress.com/post-by-voice/

Leave a Reply

